Living with Hair Loss..an Update

let’s face it, Bald may be Beautiful but Patchy…not so much!!!

I thought since September is Alopecia Awareness Month I would write about my hair loss again. I revealed my hair loss in a post in June and had amazing support and feedback…THANK YOU!

Sure Bald is Beautiful but Patchy...not so much!
It’s been 9 months since my diagnosis of Lichen Planopilaris and I’m happy to say I’m in a pretty good place. It feels great to have it out in the open and not feel that I have to hide or be ashamed of my hair loss, although I am still self conscious about it.

When I wrote before, I described how painful it was, but now I feel I have a pretty good concoction of medication helping me manage my condition. Although I still have to wear a hat outside to prevent my scalp from feeling like it’s melting, the regular, every day itching and burning is almost non-existent!!! However, if I miss a couple of days applying my protopic cream, it’s incredibly itchy and sore, I have learned to stay on top of my prescriptions!

I’ve come to terms with wearing a hair piece! The type of piece I need is actually called a “toupee” but I’m not ok with calling it that or wearing a “toupee”, I am not an old man. I will soon be ordering and wearing a “hair piece”. I went to a consultation and got everything I need…colour match, measurements, etc. I’m still doing some research and want to shop around but I’m pretty excited about ordering it and being able to go out and wear my hair down for the first time in over a year! WooHoo!!! Once I have picked and ordered my hair piece I’ll be sure to fill you in with all the steps and details it takes to get a new look! (Stay Tuned!)

I’m still losing my hair, but the hair loss has thankfully slowed down. It can still be challenging to cover up my scalp but with my new options of hair pieces and my growing hat selection, I’m feeling better about things and more confident. When I see the back of my head, I still get taken back…”Is that my head? Where did my beautiful hair go?!” but it’s starting become more familiar and I am accepting that.

Over that past few months I’ve learned a lot. I’ve found a great online support where I am able to learn a lot through others’ experiences. I discovered my grandmother had a form of Alopecia, although it was never talked about. This information helped with the “why is this happening to me” question but saddened me to think my grandma suffered in silence and that it is in fact hereditary and I can pass this down to my children. I have come across great articles regarding hair loss and have had lots of inspiration through hearing other people’s stories.

So again, I write and encourage you to learn about as many rare medical conditions as you can, know what’s happening to your body and learn to recognize when your body is telling you something is wrong. Don’t suffer in silence, seek out support and no matter what, love yourself, because in the end, that’s what makes the difference.

7 thoughts on “Living with Hair Loss..an Update

  1. […] Here’s a more recent post for an update on where I’m at now! […]

    Like

  2. Hi my name is laura I was recently diagnoticed with lpp, ffa, and ccca I’m looking for a support group everything I’m reading is years old is there anyone out there that has the same thing that’s current?

    Like

    • Hi Laura! I sent you a private msg via Facebook messaging giving you the details of the active support group on Facebook which I have found very helpful. Unfortunately, besides that and http://www.carfintl.org I haven’t been able to find a lot of information. I just checked FB and it says you haven’t read the msg. Perhaps it’s in a junk folder or if you prefer you can email me at myraecreations@gmail.com and I can give you more information that way! 😀

      Like

  3. Hi, my name is Darnell and I was recently diagnosed with Lichen Planopilaris. I am very interested in doing the support group you referenced. Thanks for your help.

    Like

Leave a Reply

