A Love Letter to My Son ❤️

Last night I wrote a love letter to my son. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do and for some reason or another, never got around to actually writing it.

I finally sat down and wrote a letter for my son to read when he's older, it was just what I needed after a long day of fighting with a stubborn two year old, reflecting on all the positive things I love about him!

I’m so glad I finally wrote it! I’m not always great at remembering to enter all his milestones in his baby book and even when I am it doesn’t cover everything, I worry that years from now I will forget all the special little things that make my little boy who he is right now. So now, as of September 1, 2015, I have it in writing, some of my favourite things about him. I also think it will be cool for him to read it when he’s older and laugh about how he gets his dance moves from his daddy and loves to sing.

This letter also covers my irrational, morbid fear of dying and not being there as he grows up, this way, heaven forbid anything happens, he will have a letter to read from me when he’s older. It’s in my handwriting and is sealed and dated for him to open when he’s older. I hope to do this every couple of years to have as a keepsake of my memories and something special between us.

Although I’ve been meaning to write this for months, I think I chose the perfect time to write it. As my son has dived right into the terrible twos, I find myself getting more and more frustrated with him. Some days, everything seems to be a drawn out fight. It was so nice to sit down with a pen and paper after he’d gone to bed and just reflect on everything I love about him and what makes him so special. It was a perfect ending to a long and stressful day, ending everything on a positive, loving note. I highly recommend you taking 10 minutes out of your evening and writing a love letter to your son or daughter.

Leave a Reply

