The Best Homemade Pizza…Papa John’s Crust!

We love pizza, it’s that meal you can have again and again and you never get sick of it because there are so many varieties out there. Sometimes we like to get take out pizza but most of the time I make my own pizza from scratch, it’s so easy!

If you Google Papa John’s Pizza Recipe, loads of options come up and I don’t know who was the original or where I got my recipe from because it’s been too long but I follow the Papa John’s Recipe which is so easy, here it is!

  • 2 1/2 – 3 Cups of Flour
  • 2 Tbsp Sugar
  • 2 1/4 Tsp of Fast Rising Yeast (1 Envelope)
  • 1/2 Tsp of Salt
  • 1 Cup of very warm water (120-130C)
  • 2 Tbsp of Olive Oil

I boil some water in my kettle while I get all the ingredients out. I use my Kitchen Aid Mixer to do the dirty work but you can do it all in a big bowl by hand.


First, I combine 1 cup of flour, the sugar, undissolved yeast and salt and turn the mixer on to blend it. I use the Kitchen Aid Flex Edge Beater at this stage. Once it’s mixed I gradually add the water and oil until it’s all mixed together. When it’s all mixed into a wet paste I add another cup of flour until it’s a nice dough. I stop the mixer, remove the Beater and scrap the edge of the bowl and put on the Kneader attachment to finish the job. After beating it for a few minutes I knead it by hand for a bit until it’s smooth and elasticky, adding more flour if I need to.

Put it in a clean bowl, cover it with a tea towel and put it in a warm place to rise…this has been sitting in my hot car outside, on a window sill, near my fireplace…get creative to help speed up the process. My favourite thing about this recipe is you only need to let it rest for about 15 minutes!

While the dough is rising, I either make another batch to make 2 pizzas or I start preparing my toppings. I have pre-cooked pieces of chicken, ham and ground beef in my freezer in Ziplock bags ready to be spread over a pizza…some of our favourite combos are:

  • BBQ chicken: BBQ sauce, chicken, red onion and mushroom
  • Deluxe: Tomato Sauce, Farmer Sausage, peppers, onions, mushrooms (any pizza friendly veg that needs to be used up)
  • Hawaiian: Tomato Sauce, Ham and No Name Pizza Tidbits (they’re a nice size for a pizza)
  • Gourmet: Tomato Sauce, Fresh Mozarella, Fresh Basil, Balsamic Vinegar
  • Cheeseburger: Tomato Sauce, ground beef, onions, mushrooms

Once your toppings are ready and you’ve oiled your pan, preheat your oven to 425-450C depending on how hot your oven gets, I prefer 425C.

Go get your dough. I use a cookie sheet because I can roll the dough out perfectly, however I also put a bit of parchment paper in the middle because my cookie sheets aren’t very nonstick anymore. Roll or press out dough onto pan/cookie sheet, prick with fork and let stand for another 10-15 minutes.

This is when I usually make my sauce:

My Tomato Sauce Recipe:

  • Can of Tomato Paste
  • 1 Clove of Minced Garlic
  • 1 Tsp of Italian Seasoning
  • 1 Tsp of Mustard
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Frank’s Hot Sauce

Brush crust with oil and bake for 5 minutes. Take your pizza out of the oven and put on your sauce, some cheese (I use pre grated double cheddar or TexMex), your toppings, some more cheese and sprinkle with Italian Seasoning. Put it back in the oven to bake for another 5 minutes and you have a delicious meal!

 

I’ve also used this dough to make garlic sticks by rolling them out and covering them with melted butter, garlic and italian seasoning!

Bon Apetit!

One thought on “The Best Homemade Pizza…Papa John’s Crust!

  1. […] personal favourites that I have come across over the years. I have already shared one with you, my favourite homemade pizza crust, and I hope to share more with you in the future. My book is only about a tenth full with recipes […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

