How to Throw the Ultimate Party…on a Budget!

 I love entertaining, I love hosting, I love throwing parties. I especially love throwing themed parties. The reality of it is, parties are a lot of work and can cost a lot of money. But if you’re willing to put in the time you can throw an awesome party for not a lot of money.
Yesterday we had our son’s 2nd birthday party, we budgeted $100 and had about 30 people attend. we are supplying all the food.For other events we host, such as our Canada Day BBQ, we keep costs down by making it a potluck but when it’s a birthday party, we like to provide the food.

Here’s how to throw an awesome party for as little money as possible.

1. Plan Ahead!!! In order to do things yourself and keep your costs down you need to be organized and have lots of time. Not everyone has lots of spare time so you need to spread it out over a few months. Giving yourself a few months to plan also allows you to take advantage of sales instead of just grabbing everything in a rush at full price. Planning ahead is probably the most important part of keeping the cost down!!

2. Research!!! We are so privileged to live in an age of technology where we can search for cool ideas in the comfort of our own home…or in a shop to double check! My parents used to have themed dinner nights, my mom and her friends would go to the library and sign out books with different ethnic recipes! Can you even imagine? I don’t think I’d bother!! If I can’t Google or Pinterest it and have 100s of ideas at my fingertips within seconds, it’s just not worth it. We are spoilt and we should take advantage of it! Research.

3. Set a Budget! It is so easy to get carried away, especially if you have a theme! The risk of researching is trying to narrow down all the cool options and ideas there are out there! Set a budget you are comfortable with and stick to it! A party isn’t worth going broke over!

4. Get creative!!! Use what you have. For example, I wanted a banner to go over the food table for my kid’s party, usually they are made of fabric but I was nearing my budget and I already had yellow and orange streamers at home in my party box so I improvised and made a cool, cheap banner with what I had around the house!

5. DIY!! You can not have a cheap party if you go out and buy everything, sure it’s convenient but convenience always comes at a price! That’s why it’s so important to plan ahead. Give yourself enough time to decide what you want and can make and then make it! Whether it’s during your child’s nap or while you’re watching a move at night, make as many decorations as you can and bake your own cake!!

6. Ask for help! Planning a party is a lot of work, especially when you’re doing a lot of DIYs, have a movie/craft night with friends while you all paint signs or paper mache a homemade piñata!

Leave a Reply

