DIY Construction Themed Party Signs

Cardboard signs are practically free, completely free if you already have paint at home, a couple bucks if you have to run to the dollar store. I always have paint at home. Here is how I made the signs for my son’s 2nd birthday party. YOU WILL NEED:

  • cardboard
  • ruler
  • exacto knife
  • scissors
  • sharpie
  • pencil
  • stencil or printout if you can’t draw freehand
  • paint
  • super glue or duct tape
  • sticks to put signs in ground (optional)

DIY Construction Themed Party Signs 

First I cut out squares from cardboard boxes and rounded the edges. The easiest way to cut cardboard is lay it down flat on a cutting board or another piece of cardboard and with a ruler or straight edge (I use a long paint stirrer, free at most hardware stores) cut along your “ruler”. Press down lightly, not cutting all the way through the cardboard, helping you make a nice clean line, then hold the cardboard up and cut down the line you just made. I find this much easier than putting all my weight into trying to cut through the first time, sometimes slipping and cutting a wiggly line.

DIY Construction Themed Party Signs

After you’ve cut out your squares, use your scissors to round the corners. Once you’ve made your shapes, paint your signs yellow or orange. I did 2 layers of Acrylic Paint from the Dollar Store. Once your paint has dried, use your “ruler” and draw a line around the edges with a black sharpie.

I’m awful at free hand bubble letters so I used a stencil for some and for others I printed the words from a word document, cut them out and traced them. After tracing them with pencil, I outlined them with sharpie to help keep it neat and easier to paint.

DIY Construction Themed Party Signs

DIY Construction Themed Party Signs

After everything was dry, I super glued the cardboard sign to some sticks I found in our garage or you can use the paint stick stirrers and then used some duct tape just in case his party fell on a windy day. Voila! Some awesome signs to get your guests pumped for your theme as they approach the party! …and to help them find the bathrooms!

DIY Construction Themed Party Signs

BE SURE TO CHECK OUT MY OTHER POST ON HOW TO MAKE YOUR OWN

DUMP TRUCK PHOTO BOOTH! 

7 thoughts on “DIY Construction Themed Party Signs

  1. Very good idea and easy to do, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. […] already did a How To for the Construction Signs and Dump Truck Photo Booth I made out of cardboard and just wanted to share a few other things […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

