5. A Week’s Worth of Fresh Air…Go on a Scavenger Hunt

I was so excited to take my kiddo on a scavenger hunt, I thought for sure he would love it! We’re always walking around the yard pointing out what we see, picking everything up and exploring, I thought it would be perfect, well, he wasn’t as keen as I expected. We were playing outside and I said “let’s go on a scavenger hunt!”…labeling it so if he liked it he could ask to do it again one day. He was hesitant at first but followed along. Of course, we didn’t have a formal hunt, there was no list, we were just going to walk around the yard and I was going to say “let’s find a…” and we would put it in his bucket. We started with a dandelion, my mistake, he didn’t know what a dandelion was and when he found out, he loved it! He wanted nothing to do with a hunt for different items, he only wanted to hunt for de-lions. I suggested a pinecone, which he usually loves collecting around the yard, but today he wasn’t interested, he was out there for de-lions and nothing was going to get in his way. So it wasn’t going as I had planned, but I reminded myself, I don’t come up with these activities for me, we don’t HAVE to do them and stick to the plan, even if I do have a blog to write at the end of the day. The whole point is to get my son outside and enjoy the nice weather. So that is exactly what we did. I grabbed some gardening gloves and my own bucket and shovel and followed my son around. He pulled the flower top off and I removed the rest of the weed from our yard! He nearly filled the bottom of his bucket with dandelion heads, which he then moved to his lawnmower and I filled 2 huge buckets with weeds! Gross! After about 20 minutes, my kiddo had his fill of de-lions and started collecting rocks in a pile next to his bucket, I had to laugh, he is definitely mine and my husband’s son! He likes to be organized and do things right, he’s not going to run around the yard picking up random things I suggest! No. My son is going to go around collecting as many de-lions as he can and when he’s done with that, he’s going to move on to rocks. It was cute! But let’s hope he doesn’t get too carried away, let’s just keep it at quirky and hopefully he won’t develop full on OCD! 🙂

  

Leave a Reply

