Homemade Timbits

My kiddo loves Timbits. He often recognizes the Tim Horton’s drive thru and starts saying “bits bits” when we go through. Who doesn’t love those little balls of heaven? …I mean donut?! But they’re not exactly a healthy snack.

Last Christmas I got a Cake Pop maker and let me tell you, the possibilities are endless! There are obviously 1000s of ideas on Pinterest for cool decorating tips but my favourite thing to do is throw some muffin mix in the machine. That’s right, my child thinks he’s eating Timbits but really I’m feeding him healthy muffins! Wahaha! Yesterday my son helped me make Chocolate Chocolate Chip Zucchini “Timbits”. He loves them and so do I! They’re super chocolatey and moist. They’re not the healthiest recipe I’ve made but they have vegetables in, so I’m happy!

In the past we’ve made Blueberry, Banana Chocolate Chip and Carrot, the possibilities are endless! These recipes are even better because I use honey and applesauce instead of sugar.

So if you want to try out a fun new snack for your kids, I highly recommend a Cake Pop maker, mine is PC brand but there are a variety of machines on the market so take your pick and have fun! It’s also great for the summer because you don’t have to turn your oven on, and each dozen only takes about 5 minutes to bake, depending on the machine and recipe! It’s also way easier to clean than a muffin tin, a very important added bonus!  

Leave a Reply

