Transitioning From Nap Time to Quiet Time

So far my son is still in a desperate need for a nap every afternoon! Thank the Lord! But, as much as I try to deny it, I know that he will soon outgrow this and I will lose my precious time in the afternoon where I can get house work done, prepare supper, write this blog and every once in a while, just take a break…a quiet, peaceful break. I don’t want to lose this, I love my little guy, but I look forward to this time to myself as much as I look forward to his bedtime, and mine. I think the key to this horrible but unavoidable change is transitioning your child from nap time to quiet time.

I know, I have high hopes.  In an ideal world I would have a blanket or “quiet area” in the house. There would be a basket filled with quiet activities such as his Quiet Book, a few other books, puzzles, etc. I would play the Quiet Time Playlist that I’ve started compiling on http://www.grooveshark.com or purchase a cd such as Baby’s Best: Quiet Time Songs. In my perfect world, I would tell my son it’s quiet time, turn on the music as an auditory cue and everything would come together, my son would follow instructions and quietly sit and do his activities while I did what I needed to.

Bahahaha! I wish!!! This will not happen! However, I am an optimist, so I’m going to try it. I don’t have high hopes, but I will let you know how it goes.

Once I complete his Quiet Book, I am going to put together some quiet activities that I know he will enjoy and we’re going to start practicing quiet time. First, I will sit with him and I will only expect him to stay for a few minutes at a time.  I will gradually increase the time spent doing quiet activities and hopefully, overtime, before he stops napping, I can remove myself from the situation and encourage independent quiet time. I might even be lucky enough to get nap time and quiet time for a while! A girl can dream!

What have you done to keep your sanity when your child stopped napping? Has anyone out there tried quiet time? Was it successful? hopefully I will be able to share some successful, or atleast funny, stories in the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

