4. Homemade Playdough

Ages 1 & up

This is a double activity that just keeps giving. I never buy Playdough, growing up we always had homemade so I never really thought of buying any, plus it’s the perfect recipe to make with your little ones!

Nontoxic if you turn your head for 1/2 a second and they sneak a taste.

Oops! They dropped the spoon on the floor or drooled in the bowl? No big deal, no one should be eating this…unless you have a weird weiner dog who likes flour and dough!?!?

We usually start by getting our aprons and chef hats out ($23.00 for double sided apron and matching chef’s hat). I move his little table into the kitchen and we get started.

I follow this recipe: http://theimaginationtree.com/2012/04/best-ever-no-cook-play-dough-recipe.html it’s quick and easy. Sometimes I half the recipe so we can make 2 different colours but it usually ends up mixed together anyway so it’s not always worth it. I once made it without food colouring because I didn’t have any in the house and my son still loved it but he definitely prefers choosing a colour when we’re making it! I also don’t put glycerine in it, simply because I don’t have any.

My kiddo helps dump the flour in and does all the mixing until the boiling water is added. Once I’ve kneaded it and it’s cool enough for him to play with, we get out his little rolling pin, cookie cutters, Mr. Potato parts, anything we can find that’s “Playdough friendly”.

We keep the Playdough in a zip lock bag and he knows where it is kept. When he wants to play with it, I help him open the bag and he gets his “tools”. From there he is (usually) independently entertained! Woohoo!

One thought on “4. Homemade Playdough

Leave a Reply

